USA Swim Names Olympic Swim Captains

Kyle Sagendorph//USA Swimming
USA Swim Captains, Caebel Dressel, Ryan Murphy, Simone Manuel, and Allison Schmitt.

USA Swim has dominated the pool on the international stage for decades. From the era of Michael Phelps to now, the US has always proven to be a powerful force in the pool. This is the first Olympics that the US is heading to without the iconic Michael Phelps in the pool swimming for the red, white, and blue. USA Swim also named four swimmers to lead the US to more gold medals in Tokyo.

This US swim team is loaded with talent. These Olympic Swim team captains have been named. Caebel Dressel, Simone Manuel, Ryan Murphy, and Allison Schmitt have been named as the captains of the Olympic team.

Dressel, Manuel, and Murphy are all Olympic veterans of Rip in 2016. Schmitt is the only swimmer to make the Olympics for the fourth time. Every single captain has won gold medals for the US.

Caebel Dressel– USA Swim Men’s Captain

Caebel Dressel has quickly become an iconic swimmer for Team USA, from his impressive jump to his impressive training routine, Dressel has proven himself to be a power in the pool. Dressel swam for the University of Florida where he broke two US and Olympic records in the 50-yard freestyle and 100-yard freestyle. In 2016, Dressel won gold in the 4×100 meter freestyle along with his other teammates Michael Phelps, Ryan Held, and Nathan Adrian. Dressel was also a part of the 4×100 meter medley relay where he won his second medal. ¬†At the 2017 World Championships, Dressel brought home seven gold medals as well as two national records. Dressel also had quite an impressive Olympic trail performance where he qualified for at least four Olympic events with the opportunity to be on the relays.

Simone Manuel– USA Swim Women Captain

Simone Manuel made a splash in the pool at the 2016 Rio Olympic games being the first African American woman to win gold in an individual swim event. Manuel is the defending gold medalist in the 100-meter freestyle and the 4×100 medley relay. She also received a silver medal in the 4×100- meter freestyle relay and in the 50- meter freestyle. After swam for Stanford where she broke records in the 50, 100, and 200- yard freestyle events. Manuel is also a six-time NCAA Champion in sprinting freestyle events. During the Olympic trials Manuel, unfortunately, did not make the cut in the 100-meter freestyle, when asked about not making the event she explained that she had an overtraining syndrome. Manuel did finish first in the 50-meter freestyle.

Ryan Murphy– Men’s Swim Captain

Ryan Murphy is another Olympic veteran that has also taken the swimming world by storm. Murphy swam for the University of California, Berkley. During his time at Cal, he broke the NCAA 200-yard backstroke record which was previously held by Ryan Lochte. In 2016, Murphy returned to the NCAA Championship and won both the 100 and 200- yard backstroke. In the 2016 Olympic games, Murphy won three golds. Murphy is the defending gold medalist in the 100 meter-backstroke and 200- meter backstroke as well as in the 4×100 meter medley relay. During the Olympic trials, Murphy qualified for the 100-meter backstroke and 200-meter backstroke with the opportunity to swim in the medley relays.

Allison Schmitt– Women’s Swim Captain

Allison Schmitt is the fourth and final captain named for Team USA. Schmitt has currently qualified for her fourth Olympic games. She is only the seventh swimmer to qualify for seven Olympic games. In 2008, Schmitt won a bronze medal in the 4×200 meter freestyle relay and placed ninth in the 200-meter freestyle. In 2012, Schmitt won three gold medals in the 200- meter freestyle, 4×200 freestyle relay, and 4×100 medley relay. Schmitt also won a bronze medal in the 4×100 freestyle relay. In 2016, Schmitt won gold in the 4×200-meter freestyle relay and silver in the 4×100- meter relay. During her collegiate career and time at the University of Georgia, Schmitt was a four-time NCAA Champion in the 200 and 500- yard freestyle events. Schmitt was also a part of the 2013 NCAA Division one Championship team.

All four Olympians have made history in the sport of swimming.  Arguably these swimmers are the new wave of swimmers following an era including Phelps and Dana Vollmer. Each captain has had amazing swim careers so far and is looking to add to their portfolios and bring home more gold medals and Olympic/ World records for the USA.

Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram!

Subscribe to us on YouTube!

Check out our shop!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *